jump to navigation

When its cold its cold. March 6, 2007

Posted by air9r in Training.
trackback

I actually rode outside today for 54 minutes.  I want to train so that I can race better, but today was a tough one with 40MPH gusts and a wind chill about 15 degrees below zero.  Basically, I proved that you can train outside in just about any weather, but maybe not much more than that.  In a “Perfect Cycling World” I would have been training in a warm climate after I got done sleeping in the high altitude chamber.  Not much to see except that the HR would shoot up 20-30 beats on my 1.5 mile loop with the headwind.  I guess this qualifies as an interval workout.  No skin was exposed…Pearl Izumi balaclava, ski hat & goggles, skin suit, long sleeve jersey, long sleeve thermal, rechargeable  battery operated footwarmers, winter riding hi-tops w/ booties, bell extreme weather nylon front winter tights and I still got the first signs of frostbite across my abdomen.   I was considering two more laps to make it a full hour but figured that I accomplished all that was positive already.

 http://trail.motionbased.com/trail/activity/2187214

Comments»

1. Wayne - March 7, 2007

Matty, you are seriously one screwed up dude.

And we love you for it.

2. wenzel - March 7, 2007

Gary and I didn’t even train outdoors yesterday…..and we seldom miss a miserable ride. You’re crackers…

3. bwirtz - March 7, 2007

Seriously, you are crazy!!! Was the time to dress and undress actually longer than the ride itself?

4. Wade - March 7, 2007

Is that a shot from Idita-bike?? I was going to go hiking but I couldn’t find my boots! Doh! 🙂

5. Ed - March 8, 2007

Nice hat. Is that team issued? Now here’s a guy who’s definetly trying to catch up for lost training time.

6. Wayne - March 8, 2007

I think that hat Matt is wearing is one of Ted’s huntin’ caps. He must have borrowed it.

7. air9r - March 9, 2007

Maybe I’m not crazy because I didn’t ride yesterday or today! I’ve got my own hunting hats so I don’t have to borrow Ted’s. January and February are historically the coldest months. Too bad I was taking my break while everyone that didn’t ride Cross was out riding during the Global Warming. How does sub-freezing temps in March fit into Gore’s propaganda?


Leave a Reply

