jump to navigation

Ironman World Championship October 11, 2010

Posted by SL in Race Reports.
trackback

It was a tremendous privilege to represent Team Horst Sports and the Horst-Benidorm-Property Research Corp. at the Ironman World Championship in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii. Last Saturday’s race was one of those special experiences in life. Just participating is a dream come true for many triathletes. The full statistics are coming together a couple of days after the race, but nearly 1800 athletes started the swim. Physically, I had a good day, but not a great day, which is just fine with me. It was a rookie experience and I suffered from the heat and wind. I think I was equally as relieved at the start as I was at the finish. Five minutes before the race, I was treading water in the bay with 1800 new friends, and I realized that all of the preparation, training, logistics, and travel had worked out. I let out a huge sigh of relief. Just getting here healthy and ready to go, with all of the right gear, and with all of the other details sorted out, was a huge accomplishment.

I was happy to finally have the race course ahead of me and all day to have the experience of a lifetime. Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t settling for any old result. I had a time in mind, but more importantly, I wanted to have an incredible experience in a special place at a special venue. 10:27:31 later, I crossed the finish line on Ali’i Drive to the cheers of thousands of people, including Debbie, my kids, my parents Stan and Lynn, aunts Mariette and Terry, and cousin Amy. I didn’t reach my time goal, but I was pleased with my effort on a very hard day. I finished fourth amongst the Ironman XC group that I was part of, and third in my XC age division. I was in the top half of overall competitors which included the best triathletes in the world. Most importantly, I am an Ironman Hawaii finisher.

It was an awesome race. My full report can be viewed at this link.

Comments»

1. Wade - October 12, 2010

Nice job Scott.


Leave a Reply

