jump to navigation

Battenkill Roubaix–Wow! April 20, 2008

Posted by SL in Race Reports.
trackback

What a day at The Tour of the Battenkill. As we rolled out of the little hamlet of Salem, New York, I noticed that the bank thermometer read 80 degrees F. Yikes, that warm, in April? For two months now, I’ve been primed to compete in this road race, fully expecting “spring classic” type weather-cold, rain, wind, snow. Instead, we got an exceedingly warm day with brilliant sunshine. I’ve got the sunburn on my arms to prove it. I never thought of packing sunscreen, but I had arm warmers, knee warmers, thermal gloves, booties, hats, etc. I didn’t need any of that stuff. I ended up riding most of the race with my jersey unzipped.

Spike had lucky 7\'s.

Spike, Arlen, and I made the trip from Connecticut. It was nice of Arlen to drive and we were there in less than three hours. Unofficially, known as Battenkill Roubaix, this race has seen explosive growth in participation since it started four years ago. This was my first time and it brought back great memories of the classic New England road races from the early 1990’s. Races like the Tour of the Valleys in Putney, Buckfield and Sebago Lake in Maine, the Coberly Road Race in Bolton, and others; have all ceased to exist. Battenkill Roubaix has emerged as one of the most successful one day races in the country, and today, 1300+ riders competed in 16 races, almost all of them sold out. There were two, that’s right, two sold out Cat 4 races.

Arlen had a long day, but finished like a man.

So, how did the race go? Well, it depends who you ask. I had a pretty good ride considering that I had not been on my road bike since the Plainville Spring Series race three weeks ago. The day after that race, I cut my hand badly and the fix included 5 stitches. I couldn’t hold onto the handlebars until this week.

120 riders started the Men’s 30+ race. The course was 54 miles long and consisted of one small loop and then one big loop. Point to point races like this are very rare nowadays. My GPS trackedit at 54.23. My HR monitor didn’t work, but all the other facts are there. The route was punctuated by many steep climbs and five major sections of dirt road. With the ultra dry conditions, the dirt roads turned into sandy rutted beaches. Loose rocks were shooting from our tires as we hammered across them. The dirt road climbs were steep and very loose. I saw some very talented riders walk. We rolled out and did a small clockwise loop that included the first sector of dirt. Folks started getting dropped on that first section. The field regrouped and we road through Salem again on our way towards the first big asphalt climb. Spike, Arlen, and I were all well postioned in the first 25 riders. Once the road steepened the pace quickened. The splits formed and Spike and I faded back. Arlen made the split and was in the first group. I was in the second group and Spike was behind me. There was a blazing fast downhill, then a rolling section before we hit the second dirt section on Juniper Swamp Road. This was very steep and a lot of people were walking. My group had closed in on the rear of the front group just as we hit the climb, but it exploded again. We were a little past the 10 mile mark.

Arlen saved his shoes, but wore through his socks on the \"hike a bike\" section.

Arlen says he got dropped from the lead group of 20 or so riders, and was chasing with a few other guys. I ended up in what became the third group, which swelled to 15 or so riders. Spike was in a group of four chasing my group. Eventually, Arlen punctured on a very rough section of dirt around mile 30. I’ll leave the storytelling to him, but his Neuvation carbon fiber rim cracked, causing the puncture of his tubular. Then, he ended up riding the rim and destroying it. I never saw him on the side of the road when I passed, despite his yelling. I must have been in the zone. Spike did see him and offered his wheel, but it was too late and Arlen refused. He ended up walking quite a ways before finally getting a wheel and completing the course. It was a bummer because I felt like he was poised to have a great ride.

He has sore feet too.

My group rode together for nearly 40 miles. We never had a chance at closing in on the group in front of us, though we could see them at times, miles across the countryside. It was crystal clear day and we rode through beautiful farms. The heat took its toll. We were thrilled to ride through several little towns with cheering fans. I’m not sure what town we were in, but at one point, volunteers were handing up bottles of cold water, a saving grace. I was covered head to toe in salt and dirt. The dust was so thick you could barely see at times. This race course was rough on a lot of riders equipment, not just Arlen’s. I rode my standard team issue Cannondale CAAD9 with my aluminum Neuvation wheels and Tufo 21c clincher-tubulars. 

The last section of dirt road came at the 50 mile mark. It was also a very steep climb. My group splintered and I couldn’t hang on. I rode the final few miles into a headwind on my own. I finished in 2:43. Spike finished 17 minutes back. Arlen did eventually finish, though way back. We were glad that he was able to complete the course.

One of us will post the results when they become available. We are curious to see how many finished and where we were positioned. The fields were so shattered from the challenging course and warm conditions. We all agreed that despite Arlen’s misfortune, that we would return in 2009. We assume it will be frigid and wet because the chances of the weather being like today, are very slim.

Nice rim.

Comments»

1. Ed - April 20, 2008

Nice write-up! This race sounds nastier than I imagined, and I don’t think I’ll ever do it. Drive all that way knowing that your chances of flatting are high. Sign me up for next year.

Sorry that I couldn’t join you boys.

2. The Tour of the Battenkill « Life Adventures - April 20, 2008

[…] reaching 80 degrees Fahrenheit. I posted a more detailed race update and some photos on the Horst-Benidorm-Property Research Corp. Cycling Team blog. The course was gorgeous, the weather was fabulous (thought too hot for April), and the race […]

3. SL - April 20, 2008
4. wenzel - April 20, 2008

The punture was not caused by the rim, but a large rock cutting the tyre and cracking the rim. The wheel van went with the 15 person front group, why? Leaving 110 other riders stranded. After waiting several minutes for Scott’s group and several more after he went by, I started to ride the rim home, knowing full well that the rim was done, and would be dead by the end. I rode several miles, being caught by Spike. We rode a few miles until the rime finally gave way….walked for about 4-5 mles. Ouch on the feet. Great race…2009 here we come.

5. Wade - April 20, 2008

Carbon doesn’t seem like the right choice for wheels.

Why didn’t anyone go with Roger? 🙂

6. wenzel - April 20, 2008

Thankfully I can not be blamed for that, seeing that Roger went after I flatted. He must have heard over the race radio that Horst was having difficulty…so he went knowing that his foe were in the hurt “mechanical” locker.

7. Wade - April 20, 2008

Not to add salt to the wound, because I know you had a crappy day. The only thing worse than coming home from a bike race with injuries is coming home with a DNF and major equipment loss. But… Having the wheel van go with the break is standard. It is the exception that it stays with the field. That said, this race seems to have even eclipsed Jiminy Peak in popularity so they need to step up with more support vehicles.

8. wenzel - April 20, 2008

…there were two wheels vans: one for the break and the other the field. 15 riders, is that the field or the break? It was an expensive lessons. Bring a spare and expect to flat…a crap shot…but I’ll be there in 2009…32-hole box section Alu tubular wheels

9. Wayne - April 20, 2008

I rode down to Plainville and back to watch Ed and Brian race, after having slept about 3 hours in the previous 36. Does that get me anything? A hug maybe?

http://www.usacycling.org/results/?permit=2008-79

DFL is better than DNF. And what’s up with Spike’s team name? Did he disown us already?

10. wenzel - April 21, 2008

NO DNF for me…for that I have blisters on both feet, a shattered rim and a deflated ego…& a DFL placing. Bring on the next race.

11. Wayne - April 21, 2008

From the pictures of those socks, looks like you need new socks. So do I. Time to order new socks?

12. mgmavant - April 22, 2008

Truly a great race – I’ll be doing it again next year. The weather was really something I wasn’t counting on, and I suspect that if it was 40 degrees colder I would have felt a bit better – not sure if it would have changed my result or not, though. I was basically with a group of four guys trying like crazy to catch Scott’s group, but after a little over 10 miles of pushing it, I just didn’t have enough to hang with the other guys when the road turned up again. Ended up riding from something like mile 22 to mile 48 by myself – not one person that I could see in front of me or behind me in my category except the one person that I did not expect to see – Zane! Sucks to get a flat, sucks even more to not get a wheel when you need it. This was my second year doing it on my Reynolds DV46 carbon cross wheels and they have held up very nicely both times. This year I ran Tufo 33 Specials, and last year I ran Tufo Giro Twix. I think next year I might consider run a set of clinchers with tubular-clincher tires.

Results are up for anyone interested: http://www.battenkillroubaix.com/Battenkill08Results.pdf

Spike

13. mgmavant - April 23, 2008

Sorry for the team name thing. When I registered for the race, I was actually still officially attached to Cox. It wasn’t until after I registered that I changed teams. I’ve updated all my profiles to reflect the new team.

Also, I’ve been having some technical difficulties – this post also went to the About tab on this blog. Could someone delete that?

Spike

14. Wayne - April 23, 2008

Spike…I deleted the comment on the “About” tab and I’ll send you an official invitation to register with the blog in a second. I never thought to do that…you are just posting as an “outsider” and can only comment until you join us officially.

Wait a second…I need to see some verification that you officially quit Cox, first. 😉


Leave a comment